Ford Philippines Announces Winners of the 20th Henry Ford Awards, Motourismo Bags First Win | Motourismo

Program host, Maureen Montagne, on the virtual stage showing the winners of the 20th Henry Ford Awards held on March 25, 2021. 

Ford Philippines has announced the winners of the annual Henry Ford Awards (HFA) in a virtual awarding session attended by over 130 journalists, dealer partners, and Ford executives. 

Now on its 20th milestone year, the HFA continues to recognize excellence and professionalism in Philippine automotive journalism, honoring the work of the country’s esteemed roster of motoring journalists. 

This year, the HFA has awarded winners from sixteen (16) categories, including the newly-introduced Go Further Changemaker Award which recognized five (5) journalists who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to help his or her fellow countrymen at the height of the COVID-19 pandemic last year.

The winners this year were selected from over 200 entries submitted by members of the automotive print, online and broadcast media.

“The 20th Henry Ford Awards has become more meaningful this year as we paid tribute to the great work of Filipino motoring journalists who continue to keep the industry alive and their readers informed amid the pandemic. This year’s winners truly raised the bar in delivering automotive news that is timely and relevant to the public,” said EJ Francisco, AVP for Communications, Ford Philippines.

Winners of the 20th Henry Ford Awards:

Automotive Column

Driving Our Agnes in the Time of COVID

Monsi Serrano for PhilBiz News

Automotive Green Feature

This Car Needs No Roads

Ronald Delos Reyes for Daily Tribune

Automotive Industry Feature

The Pragmatic SUV

Randy Peregrino for BusinessMirror

Automotive Online Feature

Benjamin Dimson: How a Filipino Artist Built a Career Designing Porsches and Mercs

Vince Pornelos for AutoIndustriya

Automotive Online Lifestyle Feature


Manuel Delos Reyes for 2nd Opinion 

Automotive Photograph

Golden Blossoms

Arabelle Jimenez for Motourismo

Automotive Print Feature

What Happens When Cheap Oil Meets A Pandemic

Eric Tipan for Manila Bulletin

Automotive Print Lifestyle Feature

Anger Management in 2 Hybrids

Teresa Salazar for Philippine Daily Inquirer 

Automotive Road Safety Feature

How to Properly and Safely Disinfect Your Car Interior

Julian Panlilio for AutoPH

Automotive Technology Feature

Do Expiry Dates for Child Restraints Really Matter?

FroilanBacungan Jr. for VERA Files 

Automotive Video Feature

Understanding the Mild Hybrid GeelyAzkarra

Vince Pornelos for AutoIndustriya

Ford Automotive Feature

I Think My Father’s Ford Mustang Died With Him

Vernon Sarne for Visor 

Ford Automotive Video Feature

Behind the Wheel: 2020 Ford F150 Review

Caco Tirona for AutoDeal

Automotive Section in a Broadsheet

Philippine Daily Inquirer

Automotive Website

Top Gear Philippines

Go Further Changemaker Awardees

One for the Road Initiative

James Deakin

Masked Crusader Initiative

Monch Henares

I’ll Hold the Line Song Composition

Ardie Lopez

Food for the Heroes Initiative

Anjo Perez

Toy Run Initiative

Mike Potenciano

Henry Ford Awards Wall of Fame

Board of Judges

An esteemed panel of judges from the academe, corporate, and creative industries comprised this year’s HFA panel of judges.

For the first phase, which evaluated the entries on overall composition, style, and substance, the judges were Dr. Maria Margarita Alvina-Acosta (Dean, Department of Communication, Miriam College), Dr. Arminda Santiago (Professor & Dean, College of Mass Communication, University of the Philippines – Diliman), Dr. Severino Sarmenta (Lecturer, Department of Communication, Ateneo de Manila University) and Dr. Cheryll Soriano (Professor, Department of Communication, De La Salle University – Manila). 

On the other hand, the judges for the second phase looked at resonance, relevance and overall impact of the entry to the reading audience. They were Joshua Aquino (Country Lead for Communications, Microsoft Philippines), Owen Cammayo (Vice President and Head of Corporate Affairs, Bank of the Philippine Islands), Ritzi Ronquillo (Chair, Awards Committee for the 2021 Gold Quill Awards, International Association of Business Communicators), and Mervin Wenke (Head of Communications and Public Affairs, Google Philippines). 

Finally, the special judges for this year responsible for judging photos, videos, design and layout, content publishing, and website management included Cecile Alcantara (President, Coca-Cola Foundation), Pat Dy (Photographer), Jason Magbanua (Videographer), Dino Ocampo (Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather) and Carlo Ople (Vice President and Head of Marketing Communications, PLDT Home).

About Motourismo.




Read More

New York Times Top Stories

MOTOURISMO.PH is Powered by

MOTOURISMO.PH is Powered by
A Digital Media Company

Contact Us


Email *

Message *